Dicing With The Devil


Dicing With The Devil


What the world will be

Is not what it is

The world hangs in balance

And time stops still

Quivering and straining

Not a second forward

The world waits

And time awaits

For what comes next

Time has come for all

To stand arm to arm together

For Now is the time to roll the dice

A time to punt all life on a throw

Aces to aces, doubles to win

And death to those who fail to see

For all life has stopped

To stare at the dice

The world hangs in balance

And even time waits on me.

The devil is on the other side

Watching me throw

Fire and brimstone, he reeks so sulfur

I clamp my nose and play my game

Even the devil cant beat me

For today I ride reckless

Trusting my luck,

For am I not the dearly beloved

Of her Highness Lady Luck?

Elusive no more, there she is,

Whispering sweetly in my ears

On, forth, roll that dice,

For todays the day you beat that devil

Smiling at her, I do as she bids

Hands clasped behind my back

Leaning at my ease.

I ride my luck and throw that dice

The world, the world, the entire world

On one throw of my wrist,

One whim of my luck

The dice falls and spins around

It bounces and rattles

And the world awaits.

Quick, take a peek, I close my eyes,

Tell me, do we live, to fight again?

Yes we will, the cheering starts

Fortune favors me,

Goddess Luck in love

And the world is saved by a thread (again).

P.S: I rarely write verse, unless mentally disturbed/distracted. So when I was recently too high strung/anxious and looking to work that extra energy off somehow, I wrote this free verse on how it would be to play a game with the Old ‘Un himself. Of course, I would back my luck any day. Even against him. But with the fate of the world in balance? Do I dare? Would you? Tell me….


4 thoughts on “Dicing With The Devil

  1. The thread of love and life interconnects all of us πŸ™‚

    Great verse doctor ji – for a moment I though it will be a bit like Dr Faustus aana your ending is brilliant!

    Love the last four lines:

    Yes we will, the cheering starts

    Fortune favors me,

    Goddess Luck in love

    And the world is saved by a thread (again).

    As Madhavan says in the jewellery ad – “Nambikkai dhan ellamaey” πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

